## 1<sup>st</sup> Division Convention Minutes 2022

#### 10:30 AM

Commander Peter Eekhoff opened meeting Colors placed by Michael Kurtz Prayer Chaplin Daryl Hartley Pledge by Commander Peter Eeckoff in unison Pow/Mia chair cover by Michael Kurtz

Commander of Host Post 838 Welcome to Convention

Commander Eekhoff presented resolution to Host Post 838 Commander

Guests

Department Commander Brett Watson Department Vice Commander Gene Toohey National Sgt at Arms Michael Griffith Past Department Commander Jeff Perkins Past Department Commander John Hince Past Department Commander Jim Fleming Department Chaplin Gerri Hince

Past Division Commanders Bobby Baker Jim Fleming Michael Griffith Gene Toohey Jeff Perkins

Department Commander brought greetings to Convention

Candidates Alternate National Committeeman John Hince Lynn Sparks Jeff Perkins

Department Commander Michael Griffith Roger Folmer Gerri Hince Andy Lowen

Department Vice Commander Al Alford

### Tom Marty

### Department Treasurer Steve Cook

# Department Judge Advocate J.D. Langley

## Department Historian Shirley Platt Robin York

## Department Sgt at Arms Kimberly Biggerstaff

1<sup>st</sup> Division Commander Joseph Campbell Steven Farrell

## Ben Dupree reported on voting strength and certifications

### 1<sup>st</sup> District

Post 30 – 6 Post 92 – 4 Post 105 – 3

Total – 13

# 3<sup>rd</sup> District

0

No Post on the Floor

Total - 0

# 4<sup>th</sup> District

Post 17 – 9 Post 29 – 4 Post 62 – 7 Post 165 – 4 Post 178 – 23 Post 194 – 4 Post 231 - 12 Post 283 - 13 Post 310 – 14 5<sup>th</sup> District

- Post 81 8 Post 292 - 7 Post 424 - 5 Post 453 - 12 Post 504 - 5 Post 507 - 5
- Post 597 13
- Total 55

# 12<sup>th</sup> District

- Post 60 9 Post 356 - 3 Post 516 - 8 Post 569 - 13 Post 655 - 17 Post 838 - 6
- Total 56

13<sup>th</sup> District

Post 71 - 10 Post 268 – 3 Total – 13

Total Votes 227

Motion to accept by Dave Etter Post 516. 2<sup>nd</sup> by Jeff Perkins Post 453. Motion passed

Motion by Dave Etter Post 516 to accept previous 2021 convention minutes as published. 2<sup>nd</sup> by Jeff Perkins Post 453. Motion passed

Under Finance Report it was discussed that Paige Shaneck 2017-2018 Oratorical Winner had forfeited her winnings of \$1500.00 for not enrolling into a school within a year after graduation Motion by Past Division Commander Bobby Baker to forfeit Paige Shaneck winnings. 2<sup>nd</sup> by Steve Ferrell. Motion passed

Jeff Perkins Post 453 motioned to accept Finance report for 2021 Convention.2<sup>nd</sup> by Gene Toohey Post 17. Motion Passed

Joe Campbell Post 379 reported Post 655 was owed \$178.00 from the 2021 convention. Joe Campbell motioned to pay Post 655, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Forest Beadle Post 71 Motion Passed

Gene Toohey Post 17 asked for a breakdown of the 2021 Convention expenses.

Joe Campbell Post 379 motioned to pay Post 71 the sum of \$81.27 for this years Oratorical expenses  $2^{nd}$  by Dave Etter Post 516. Motion passed

Gene Toohey Post 17 questioned expenses and order

Steven Ferrell Post 310 motioned to allow Adjutant to purchase Past Division Commander pins  $2^{nd}$  by Dave Etter Post 516, motion passed

New business

None

Ben Dupree gave final report on Credentials of Seated Delegates and Voting Strength

1<sup>st</sup> District Post 30 – 6 Post 92 – 4 Post 105 – 3 Post 258 - 4 Total – 17 3<sup>rd</sup> District 0 No Post on the Floor Total - 0 4<sup>th</sup> District Post 17 – 9 Post 29 – 4 Post 62 – 7 Post 165 – 4 Post 178 – 23 Post 194 – 4 Post 231 - 12 Post 283 - 5 Post 310 – 14 Total - 82 5<sup>th</sup> District Post 81 - 8 Post 292 - 7 Post 424 - 5

Post 453 - 12 Post 504 - 5 Post 507 - 5 Post 597 - 13 Total - 55 12<sup>th</sup> District Post 60 - 9 Post 297- 9 Post 356 - 3 Post 379 - 48 Post 516 - 8 Post 569 - 13 Post 655 - 17 Post 838 - 6 Total - 113

13<sup>th</sup> District

Post 71 - 10 Post 268 – 3

Total – 13

Total Votes 280

Gene Toohey Post 17 motioned to cease meeting and go into Elections. 2<sup>nd</sup> by Jeff Perkins Post 453. Motion Passed

Speeches by Candidates for Division Commander Steven Ferrell Post 310 Joseph Campbell Post 379

Jeff Perkins Post 453 nominated Steve Ferrell for Division Commander Forrest Beadle Post? Nominated Joseph Campbell for Division Commander

Results of Election with some posts off the floor

	Joe Campbell	Steven Ferrell
1 <sup>st</sup> District	0	13
4 <sup>th</sup> District	0	82
5 <sup>th</sup> District	9	41
12 <sup>th</sup> District	108.75	4.25
13 <sup>th</sup> District	13	0
Total	130	140

Steven Ferrell will be 1<sup>st</sup> Division Commander for 2022-2023

Ben Dupree motioned to be relieved of Rules and Credentials Chairman,  $2^{nd}$  by Steven Ferrell. Motion passed

Terry Meyering motioned for a full convention by Host Post in the future complete with Raffles, and higher registration, 2<sup>nd</sup> Alan Hall Post 60. After much discussion Motion passed 25 to 18

Appointments Vice Commander Patrick Taylor Adjutant Bernard Aderholt Finance Terry Meyering

Don Toohe Post 17 motion to approve, 2<sup>nd</sup> Bobby Baker motion passed

Gene Toohey Post 17 motioned to allow Wolf Laughing to be delegate to National Convention,2<sup>nd</sup> Jeff Perkins Post 453 motion passed

Meeting Adjourned at 12:40 pm

**Respectfully Submitted** 

Bernard Aderholt 1<sup>st</sup> Division Adjutant 2019-2021